Weaker than Water

"In the world, there is nothing more submissive and weak than water. Yet for attacking that which is hard and strong, nothing can surpass it." –Lao Tzu

For Poe and Plath

Leave a comment

How much I understand and

begrudge you your addiction!

You have raised your glass of bitterness,

clinking it lightly to mine,

resounding in pleasant rings that

only good glass gives. You drink what

you think is magic elixir, and I,

assured, drink too. I

trust your judgment completely.

 

Surely you know some secret,

imagination inducer, some

key to controlling the ebb

of genius. I seek it also,

in the beckoning bottles of bruised fruits,

in the low moan, blowing into bottlenecks,

the bite of the first sip,

the pinch of the pucker,

the swallow.

 

Sometimes you’ll see me

hunched in my chair,

chin cemented to chest,

an empty glass on the table beside me,

still ringing. My thoughts are

spirits; by the time I awake,

they have flown through

the windsock, and I,

to catch them,

follow.

 

Circa 1995

Revised November 18, 2013

Copyright KMG, All rights reserved

 

 

Author: All Things Writing, LLC

Katherine Gotthardt is CEO of All Things Writing, LLC, a full-service content development and content marketing company. A published writer and seasoned educator, Katherine leads a team of professionals on a mission to make clients shine online and in print.

Thinking Readers Say...

